Devastation Has Struck The ‘Chronicles

As I write this, I am pretty sure I’m on the verge of having a panic attack, or breaking down and crying, or something just as overly emotional. Adam Burish has torn his ACL, needs reconstruction surgery, and will be out six months…

Six months.

I suffered an odd sort of devastation as soon as Meghan texted me the news. A devastation that only grew when I read the report on the Blackhawks website, via the Blackhawks Twitter. I’m sick enough as it is (Meghan gave me whatever she has), and now that this news has broken, I’m about ten-times worse. And guilt is seeping through my body as my love for the Chicago Blackhawks momentarily eclipses my love for the Washington Capitals.

But I’m mad at those boys for last night’s game, and Burish’s injury is a lot more important to me at the moment. And man, I’m not sure how I’m going to function for the next few days…

Meghan and I have devised a plan, though, to help ease what we’re feeling at the moment. We’re making Adam Burish a card. A serious, wholehearted card with glitter and pizazz and everything else. And we’re going to find somewhere to send it so he can get it because we’re that concerned, even if it’s pathetic to be so emotional about a hockey player who plays for the Caps and who we don’t know. But that doesn’t really matter at the moment, if you ask me…

On a lighter yet still Blackhawks-related note, Meghan and I have just made the most wondeful discovery: Blackhawk Build-A-Bears! The other day, I was telling Meghan how I wanted to celebrate my eighteenth birthday by going to Build-A-Bear and making a hockey-playing bear. So, she did a little scrounging around, and found that Build-A-Bear has NHL uniforms. Unfortunately, they do not have the Capitals (yet they have the Wild…WTF?!), but they do have the Blackhawks, which is the next best thing! The outfit is absolutely adorable, and I’ve already picked out a bear to buy, too. And I’d get him a hockey stick and puck, and ice skates, and a his jersey personalized, too. Unfortunately, you cannot use REAL player’s names, so I’ll have to settle for something related to a player without THEM knowing it…

ALSO, Semin may have injured his right ankle! If he has and it’s serious, something terrible is going to happen. I can barely handle Burish’s injury, and if Sasha’s injured? If one of my Capitals’ is seriously hurt? Yah, not looking good for me or Meghan. We’ll keep you posted.

– Anna

EDIT: OH, THANK YOU HOCKEY GODS! Alexander Semin is all right, according to Dmitry Chesnokov. I can breathe a little easier now…

1 Comment

Filed under Adam Burish, Alexander Semin, Anna's Blog, Chicago Blackhawks, Washington Capitals

One response to “Devastation Has Struck The ‘Chronicles

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

