What Do Brooksy, Staal, and Turco Have in Common?

Last week, Meghan and I joined our first fantasy hockey league, comprised of all girls, all from Twitter, including several blogs, such as Punch in the Face and All Hawks Hockey. Last night, we participated in our first fantasy draft. It was quite an interesting experience, one that left me with a pounding headache.

My roster is as follows:

Forwards

  • Eric Staal
  • Brooks Laich
  • Mike Knuble
  • David Steckel
  • Matt Bradley
  • Milan Michalek
  • Ray Whitney
  • Kyle Okposo
  • Christopher Higgins

Defense

  • Scott Niedermayer
  • Brian Pothier
  • John Erskine
  • Shaone Morrisonn
  • Wade Redden

UTIL

  • Tom Poti

Goalie

  • Cam Ward
  • Marty Turco

Bench

  • Michal Neuvirth
  • Quintin Laing
  • Brandon Dubinsky
  • Eric Fehr
  • Matt Hunwick

Obviously, I have a very effective team… Okay, not really. I went in without any sort of strategy, except to get Brooksy, Brads, and Stecks. After that, I honestly did not care. I ended up just getting a lot of Capitals to make myself happy. I’m going for the WORST fantasy hockey team; let’s hope I win at that. Anyway, like most things, I’ll probably lose interest in this fantasy league thing pretty quickly, but it’s always good to try new things :]

In other news, pictures for yesterday’s paintball-bonding-whatever can be found here. It looks like fun, though who knows. I’ve never actually played paintball… Is paintball fun?

8220_185517335560_143110765560_4165858_5766509_n

 Also, as Meghan mentioned the Steve Avery in the Fall 2009 issue of the NHL Shop catelog, a picture is here:

440213998_1531434003_0

I received the catelog yesterday, and was rather happy that the cover featured Ovie, Nicky, and Greener, though I do know there’s another covering featuring Ovie, Tazer, Datsyuk, and Crosby, which was the one Meghan got.

440214650_1531436510_0

– Anna

EDIT: A small recap of the paintball game can be read here.

Leave a comment

Filed under (Mis)Adventures in Fantasy Hockey, Anna's Blog, Washington Capitals

Leave a Reply

